I love running races! Whether it is a fun run or a team relay that involved months of training and preparation, I absolutely love the race atmosphere. I am not good enough yet to actually race against other people (there is usually no chance in hell I am going to place among the top runners) but I love to race against myself! Whether it is a new distance or a personal PR, the race day challenge and atmosphere is always something to look forward to. Races provide me with great runners to try and emulate and newer runners to cheer on and encourage. I never expected strangers to be so supportive but runners really are! Races remind me of how exciting it was to finish my first few races but they also remind me that I have so much more to keep working towards. I have talked to numerous people nervous and intimidated about trying out a race but I have to tell you, from my experience, there is no more supportive place than the starting line and/or finish line of a race!

I am really proud of my local community as it seems there are more and more local races being offered. Local races are smaller and less intimidating (but I promise the really big races are usually just as supportive!), less expensive without having to deal with travel costs etc, and a really great way to support local causes and businesses. Here are a few upcoming local races/ triathlons /events that I have heard about!

DU Reno 40k Duathlon Series, August 19, 2012 and September 23, 2012

                A run-bike-run format.

Riken 30k Challenge September 9, 2012            

                This is a two person team event that combines running and biking.

Try Eryn Tri Sprint Triathlon September 9, 2012

RGJ Journal Jog 2012 8k September 16, 2012

Color Me Rad Reno 5k September 22, 2012

Lake Tahoe Marathon September 28-30, 2012 

                Tons of events! 5k, 10k, 1/2 marathons, a 20 miler, marathons, 50& 72  mile Ultras,  relays, triathlons, etc!

Run for Education 5k October 21, 2012

Trick or Treat 5k October 28, 2012

Anything is Possible 5k November 4,2012

Turkey Trot 2012 November 22, 2012

Reno-Nosed Run December 2, 2012

Whether you are a serious racer (aka: badass), a newbie (woohooo!) or like me and somewhere in between, try out one of these races! If you have ever had an interest in running, use anything you can think of to get you to the starting line. Just do it! Call a friend and make a commitment to do it together or get the whole family involved. Start a weight loss plan and make workout plans that will get you ready for one of these races. Make a bet with a super competitive friend. Set a PR goal and try some speed work to get your booty where it needs to be. Come up with a run/walk plan. Design a fun costume you can wear to the race. No matter what your reason for getting started and how you do it, just get up and get there. I promise it will be worth it!

Know of any local events I missed? These are ones that I am considering but I would love to hear of more Comment with the details and I will add them to the list! Let’s keep these events successful and growing in our area!

