Even though I am not signing up or participating in any new races, I am trying to still support some friends and local races I have grown to love. My husband is still running and it is a totally different experience to just go watch but I believe that supporting local races is important. Supporting these events and groups is the only way to ensure that they stick around and I want them here next year when I can race again!

A local running group, Silver State Striders, annually puts on a race call You’ve Gotta Be Crazy Run. This year’s race is Sunday February 17, 2013 at 10am. I was intrigued to try this race last year because of the rumors I had heard. I was told that the theme of this race was to run in as little clothes as possible, such as short shorts and a sports bra for the girls and totally topless for the boys. Considering it is February and average temperatures in our area are usually between the mid 30’s and mid 40’s, I had to check out how crazy I was. I partly chickened out and ran in shorts and a long sleeved shirt but found a great race I really enjoyed. There were a couple others much braver and showing more skin than I was however all levels of exposure (within decency) and non-exposure were welcome! Last year was the first time I ran this race and I am super bummed to be missing it this year!

The race is located just a couple of miles outside of Reno in Verdi. This is a beautiful area with a 5k loop or a 10k two loop option. While this race is somewhat smaller, I was so impressed last year with how it was ran. The group does a great job with registration, organization, a post race picnic and prizes. Entry fees are totally economy friendly with early registration ranging from $10 to $25 depending on which event you would like to do and whether or not you want a shirt. They also offer race day registration at just a slightly higher price. This is a fundraiser for the Silver State Striders Junior Striders and Community Junior Running.

While I will be cheering on the runners from the sidelines, especially my husband and a couple other friends, I highly recommend this local event for anyone in the area!

