Right now, here in Reno, NV, our air quality is awful. Due to the Rim Fire in Yosemite, our atmosphere is nothing but hazy smoke. Schools are eliminating recess, outside sports for both high school and college are being postponed, cancelled, or moved, and everyone is being encouraged to limit outside exposure. This sucks for anyone who hates the “dreadmill” as much as I do. Running in place feels like torture to me. I can be on a treadmill and can be totally convinced that 20 minutes has flown by only to look down and see that only 4:53 has passed. I can throughly enjoy and outside run of 6 miles one day and then, the very next day, feel like I’m going to collapse after only 2 miles on a treadmill. Ok, ok, you get the point! Well as I am currently training for my first trail run, I need all the training I can get. The climbs and uphill battles I am sure to face in a couple weeks really don’t care if my air is currently smoky. They will still be steep. They will still kick my butt. So this last week, I have been reunited with the treadmill to continue getting ready to hit the trails.

Wish You Were Better

This is the race I am training for. Galena Fest. September 29, 2013

Wicked Thorn

Wicked Thorn

With the baby and my work schedule, at the moment I only have an hour at lunch, which is when I work out. This includes driving to and from the gym and showering so my coworkers don’t hate me. Basically I have between 35-45 minutes for my workout. These are the two treadmill workouts I have been using.

#1
10% incline
2 minutes warmup @ 3.0mph
15 intervals: 1 minute @ 5.2mph, 1 minute @ 3.0mph
Total workout: 32 minutes

#2
5% incline
2 minutes warmup @ 3.0mph
10 intervals: 2 minute @ 5.5mph, 1 minute @ 3.0mph
Total workout: 32 minutes
I am the first person to criticize my speed and to look at that 5.2 mph or that 5.5 mph and scoff at the idea of these being too easy but right now, these are kicking my butt and I love it! They are shorter workouts that are hopefully getting me ready for my race. I am slowly working at increasing the speeds and maybe even lengthening the faster interval and shortening the rest interval. One great thing about these types of workouts, they make the treadmill a little more entertaining. I don’t have time to think about how much I hate it because I am constantly increasing and decreasing my pace and looking forward to whatever part of my interval is next. These have almost made me like the treadmill for the consistent incline and set paces it offer. For the record, I said I ALMOST like the treadmill!

